The Mini Bar: Making An Old Fashioned New

I am a huge fan of the old fashioned. It’s straight, to the point, and just sweet enough to satisfy when I need a little more than straight whiskey. I love local distilleries. Colorado is home to some of the best. Stranahan’s has been a local favorite for quite some time, and a definite favorite of mine.

The Breckenridge Distillery is another local favorite. They were a large reason why I got into whiskey and bourbon to begin with. The Breckenridge bourbon is wonderfully smooth, and doesn’t necessarily need to be made into a cocktail to enjoy.

Having too much sugar in my cocktail tends to really upset my stomach, so adding a sugar cube to my drink isn’t exactly kosher. Instead of the sugar cube, I’ll substitute for a maraschino cherry, and a dash of its syrup. It’s sweet enough to break through the bitters and whiskey, but with half the sugar that will not upset my stomach.

Here’s the recipe below:

2oz Stranahan’s Single Malt Whiskey

2 dashes Breckenridge Bitters

2 dashes maraschino cherry syrup

1 maraschino cherry

1 dash water

Add cherry syrup, bitters, and a dash of water to an old fashioned glass and mix. Add a large ice cube and pour over whiskey and whisk lightly. Add cherry for garnish.

Enjoy!

20170203_202608

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

